Redemption Run

Whoa! People love a story about horrible runs! Thanks for all the positive shout outs on my down in the dumps run this past Sunday. Extra special shout out to my cousin Maura who is ALSO training for her first marathon about 850 miles away in Chicago. She’ll be killing the Chicago Marathon on October 13!

I suppose the biggest lesson I learned in sharing the worst moment of my marathon training ever was that it is in fact not my worst moment of marathon training. It’s just a part of marathon training that everyone has to deal with. (thanks to my personal running guru / college roommate / all -around amazing person, Jamie for sending me continued wisdom via text from the great state of Texas.)

So, with that in mind last Tuesday night, I laced up my Brooks and headed back to the crowded pavements of NYC for my redemption run! Running at rush hour in midtown New York City is an exercise in patience and stop-and-start motion. Thankfully, while I was flying down W. 44th Street (in my imagination), some runner dude passed me (actually flying), so I just kept him in sight and followed every dart and dash movement he made. Thanks, speedy stranger running guy!!

As I trekked up the Queensboro Bridge, I was gifted this amazing view of the East River.

The East River as seen from the Queensboro Bridge

The East River as seen from the Queensboro Bridge

Not too shabby.  I circled back through Roosevelt Island and made it home just in time to shower and welcome my mom who had just arrived in NYC to help prepare for the arrival of Baby Lowe, who is due on the 23rd.  It was a great way to shake off the bad feelings of the past few runs and look forward to the next 6 weeks.

Recaps to come:  16 and 18 miles. Wowsers.

 

 

 

One thought on “Redemption Run

Leave a comment